View count: 7867

Services

 

Establishing the Data Computing Center

The establishment of the Data Computing Center aims at providing research staff of the College of Social Sciences robust computing systems and access to confidential data for empirical research. In recent years, due to the development of computing technology and econometrics, models of many industries have become more complex, and the demand for processing large amounts of data has increased rapidly. The Center provides a computing host that allows multiple, simultaneous users to support our research staff with the computing capacity required for empirical research.


Data Collection, Organization, and Update

Members of the research team of the Center focuses on areas inclusive of microeconomics, macroeconomics, industrial economy, financial economy, economic development and economic history. The collection, procurement and updating of related databases continue to contribute to long-term, fruitful research results of the Faculty of Social Sciences, and further provide teachers and students with relevant statistical software and research methods. Current working areas include:

  • Taiwan's Historical Economic Statistics: the Center cooperates with the Taiwan Institutions and Economic History Association, with the aim of collecting and organizing pre-Japanese-occupation historical data for researchers.
  • Macroeconomics data collection and promotion: the center will cooperate with the Taiwan Economic Data Center to promote the use of the AREMOS database and further collate more relevant data.
  • Applied microeconomics data collection, such as ones related to health, industry, and trade: the Center aims at collecting all data related to health, industry, and trade that were acquired by the Faculty of the College of Social Sciences, mainly the Department of Economics, to assist junior professors in familiarizing themselves with existing research resources.

Academic Exchanges and Cultivation of Talent

We will cooperate with various research institutes to organize seminars related to data collection and usage, such as big data analyzing methods. The Center has organized the 2017 Annual Meeting jointly with the Taiwan Institutions and Economic History Association, and is also preparing to collaborate with the Taiwan Economic Data Center to host seminars regarding introduction to the usage of the macroeconomics database AREMOS, how to use the data for calibration and simulation, introduction to the current macroeconomy, and etcetera.

We will also host small workshops, as well as lectures on statistical softwares (such as R, Stata, and GIS), and actively promote undergraduate and graduate students to participate in empirical research to further cultivate talented individuals in economics. We also aim at establishing the Economic Statistics Program and Economic Statistics Study Camp to enhance students’ interest in learning, and hence deepen their professional knowledge in economics-related research fields.

瀏覽人次: 2147

中心業務

 

資料運算中心的設立

資料運算中心的設立主要在滿足社科院同仁對於實證研究所需的電腦計算強度與保密性資料的存取。近年來由於電腦計算科技與計量經濟學的發展,許多產業的模型趨於複雜化,對於處理大量資料的需求也急遽增加,中心為了滿足社科院同仁對於實證研究所需的電腦計算強度,提供可供多人同時使用的運算主機。


資料收集、整理、與更新

本中心之研究團隊成員研究主題涵蓋個體經濟、總體經濟、產業經濟、財務經濟、經濟發展和經濟史。相關資料庫之收集,採購與更新,將可持續增進社會科學院教師長期一直以來豐富之研究成果,並更一步提供師生研究學習相關統計軟體與研究方法。目前的工作方向包括:

  • 台灣歷史經濟統計資料:關於台灣的歷史統計資料,中心將與台灣制度與經濟史學會合作,預計先蒐集日治時期以前的資料,並加以整理,供相關學者研究。
  • 總體資料收集推廣:中心將與財團法人經濟資訊推廣中心合作,推廣 AREMOS 資料庫的使用,並進一步整理更多相關的資料。
  • 健康、產業、與貿易相關等的應用個體資料收集:中心將收錄過去社科院,尤其是經濟系各個老師在健康、產業、與貿易已購買或是蒐集的相關資料,協助新進老師了解相關已有的研究資源。

學術交流與人才培育

我們將與各研究機構合作,舉辦各式與資料收集使用相關的研討會,像是大數據的分析方法。日前已經與台灣制度與經濟史學會合辦 2017 年會,也準備與財團法人經濟資訊推廣中心合辦如總體經濟資料庫 AREMOS 使用與介紹,如何使用資料進行 calibration and simulation 以及最近總體經濟情勢簡介等。

我們也會舉辦小型工作坊,舉辦統計相關軟體 (如 R、Stata、GIS) 的講習,積極推動本校相關系所大學生、博碩士研究生參與實證研究工作,以加強經濟相關人才之培養。建構「經濟統計學程」與「經濟統計資料研習營」,提高學生之學習興趣,深化學生對於經濟相關研究領域的專業知識。